top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSophie Calderon

A Photographic Journey

Time for a little switch up with the blog. If you are more of a picture person instead of reading, you are in for a treat! People ask me all of the time what made me decide to take an interest in photography. After completing my AP Portfolio my senior year, I realized that I loved photography because it gives me the ability to tell stories through pictures along with allowing me to capture special moments for people. So now, I am going to take you on a small journey through some of my photographs, so you can understand some of my photo concepts.

Milk Bath: This piece is a symbolic representation of a story of rebirth. The concept of rebirth came to me when we were covering the renaissance, or enlightenment period. In many cultures milk is symbol of life. I decided to use a large quantity of milk to represent an abundance of milk. The flowers randomly assorted throughout the piece represent growth - supposed to represent the mental growth of the subject being reborn. Here's a preview of the final product:

Another Photo Concept I wanted to cover was a love story. Out of my love for the queen, Janis Joplin, I was inspired by her song "Me and Bobby McGee". I decided to go with a 70's inspired love story that highlights looking back on your time with someone you loved after realizing you lost them.

While trying to come up with different concepts to portray, I also get to do commissioned photoshoots for people. Just a little insight of the things I get to do and the amazing opportunities I get:

I got to help my best friend celebrate being around for 18 years:

I got to capture the celebration of 50 years of marriage between Buck and Barbara:

I was able to capture people from my congregation gathering together to help raise money for our Haiti Fundraiser:

I took beautiful photos of my friend Anna Laurin as she began working with Rodan + Fields and takes a leap into the next chapter of her life:

One of the precious girls I babysit, Carlyle, getting ready for her 8th birthday!

James, as he prepares for graduating high school:

And to conclude, Hannah as she prepares for her first Christmas:

I'm so lucky to be able to capture all of these special moments in life. I look forward to a life time of photography and memories in the making to come.





15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Komentarze


bottom of page