top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSophie Calderon

This One Is For ME

Time can pass by pretty quickly at times, which quite often gives the world the opportunity to consume you. In the blur that I know as time, I find myself longing to have an answer to the big question of "Who Am I?" I used to have a pretty good answer to this. Being someone who is majoring in Public Relations so I could plan for a living, you better believe I had myself figured out. But lately I feel like I am so caught up in a set routine of school, practice, study, repeat - that I kind of lost a sense of who I really was. I don't like that.


I feel like there's a lot of pressure on people to know who they are or to "be something". There is a lot of pressure to conform to society, while you are also expected to be unique. I have come across little moments lately like: blaring a good song or smelling something that gives me a flash of nostalgia, reminding me of who I really am. It's a reminder to do things I really love; things I haven't been making time to do.


So here's my little list of things to do to constantly keep my little spark going:


1. Blaring music and dancing like nobody's watching

- I have a record player that I am TERRIBLY guilty of using more as a speaker than a record player....anywho, when I'm home alone I love just blaring music and singing and dancing - just being a little free spirit.

2. I love moments that put you on a spiritual high

- When I was in high school, I spent a lot of time at my church camp. I was so in touch with my faith to the point where it felt tangible. I miss those songs, those people, and those moments when I would lay under the rose hill constellation feeling invincible.

3. My creative outlet

- My senior year I took AP Art Studio and with all of the assignments due, you could constantly find me with my camera in hand or painting or HONESTLY anything. I just miss having the time to express and define myself through art.

4. I just need to slow down.

- I've always been a busy person, but I was constantly just taking 2 seconds to slow down and breathe. 2 seconds for just me. And all I need is 2 seconds sometimes, but I have a hard time finding them.


I've noticed for a while that there's been a little piece of me missing, and I really want it back.

real life photo of me falling into a canoe because this is REALLY ME


21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

ความคิดเห็น


bottom of page