top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSophie Calderon

An Open Letter To My Best Friend

Dear Liv,

We have one of those friendships that I've always dreamed of having. One where we like all of the same things, know what's going on with each other before even asking, and relating on every level possible. The only thing that could make this iconic duo more iconic would be if we lived in the same place and could see each other daily, but we basically do on FaceTime. You are always the first person I come to with good news and definitely the first person I go to with bad news. No matter what I have to tell you, you're always there. Whether it be with open arms ready to hug me and let out our annoying screams, or you waiting patiently with a shoulder to cry on; you're always there. I love our friendship because we are always happy for each other's successes. If you know I have something big happening that day I can always expect a text from you making sure things went well... and if things didn't go well we are constantly there to remind each other it is easier to blame the universe then to take any sort of responsibility. I live for those moments. For 6 years now, you have never failed to accept every weird, crazy part of me and for that I am so thankful. I never imagined I would be so excited to see someone and that it would be so hard to say goodbye -- every time. Edward Sharpe said it perfectly, "home is wherever I'm with you". There is no one in the world I would rather have as my best friend. There are so many moments in my life that I just wish you were just there to share with me because I know you would get as excited as I do, or laugh as hard as me.

You are the only person I would ever even contemplate making plans with 20 years from now *references bucket list* and there is honestly no one else I would rather take on the world with. I look forward to a life long friendship with you, Liv. I love how in 6 years I've only ever been mad at you once. Even being mad at you resulted in one of my favorite memories: us laying on the floor of an empty St. Phillip's church with Dr. Dog's "The Breeze" playing in the background as we said nothing..until we wrote each other letters talking about we didn't know what we would do without each other when I graduated and had to move on. Every letter ended with our unforgettable "Dude, I Miss You" even when we were sitting right next to each other. Being friends with you truly makes me a better person, after we became closer I feel like my life got 200% better just because I had someone to share everything with.


Having you as my best friend comes with so many perks. I get an outrageous amount of amazing links to Spotify playlists and new songs that I would've never heard of. I have a personal coach who can helps me stay trendy in the world of Granola. I have someone who I can share eco-friendly tips and ideas with (even though you already know most of them). I have someone who engraved the word "wholesome" into my daily vocabulary. I have someone who understands me and never judges me. I have someone I constantly look forward to talking to for hours. I have someone to send 10,000 snapchats to of the food I cook EVEN WHEN IT HAS MEAT IN IT AND YOU KNOW YOU WOULD NEVER EAT IT BUT YOU TELL ME IT LOOKS GOOD BECAUSE YOU KNOW I WORKED HARD. What did I possibly do to deserve Olivia B.?


So many friends have come and gone out of my life, but you always stuck around. You manage to make so many people happy and you are truly a light for so many. You are insanely smart, beautiful, kind, funny, and feminist as fork. The love you show to others is so unreal and has no limit. You take time to understand every person you meet and never allow anyone to feel like they are not worth something. I say it over and over, but it is so true. You know me better than anyone else. You know what things make me excited and things that make me mad. You always know what to say to make things better. You are such a WHOLESOME human being and I hope that everyone has a friendship like this because it's pretty amazing.


I love you so much girl, and I cannot wait to take on life with you.


XOXO, Soph.

30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page