top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSophie Calderon

Dear Daddy

Updated: Jun 16, 2018

Daddy, I never felt like you have ever received the credit for all that you have done for me. You have gone above and beyond to teach my sisters and I important life lessons, and you never expected anything in return. You use the fulfillment of being a father as your "Thank You", and for that I am forever thankful.

You have been such an essential part of my life, especially because you are someone who has taken me by the hand and helped to show me the way.


You have continuously reminded me that dreams are not something that are impossible. You have encouraged and supported me through all of my far-fetched ideas and never once made me feel like I was "wrong" for wanting to be something amazing. Believe me, I have gone through many ideas of what I thought would be the right path in life for me. When I was in Pre-School, tone deaf as ever, I told my class that I wanted to be a singer and dancer when I grew up. Instead of trying to encourage me to do something else, you let me stand on your feet as we salsa danced around your apartment. You learned my dance routine to The Steve Miller Band's "Fly Like an Eagle", just so we could do it together. You have never ceased to make me the happiest girl in the world.

You have taught me to love others the way I have been loved by you. Whenever I think of all you have done for me, I think of: you running to get the car in the pouring rain, being nervous during a school program only to look up and see you in the back of the room with a video camera, or even walking into your apartment to see that you set up a tent in the middle of your living room and filled it with ALL of our stuffed animals. No amount of words could ever thank you, Daddy. You have always been a symbol of happiness and comfort in my life. Along with teaching me that I should give others the love that you have given me, you have showed me what type of love people are supposed to show me in return. Throughout my life, you have truly shown me the value that love holds.



Thank you for being a great role model. Since I was little, you have always told us your stories about growing up in Costa Rica. You taught me that value and success does not come from material things. You made me grateful for everything that I received, by teaching me about how blessed we are. Because of you, I understand that every moment I undergo is precious. You taught me the importance of living every moment in life with happiness, for it will one day be history. You have also taught me the value of family because in this constantly changing world, they remain same. I am constantly reminded by your lessons, that my family is the root of my being. You show me that if you are in touch daily with our family that lives in Costa Rica, that there will never be a good excuse for not taking 2 seconds out of my day to check in with my family that is so close to me.


Whenever we would visit family in Costa Rica, you and I would sit together on the plane. You always knew I liked to fly, but that I get super nervous during take off. Without ever saying a thing, you would just hold my hand and we would laugh the ENTIRE time until all we could see were clouds. When I was little, you would let me sleep on your chest, just to let me know that you were there. You have always been there. I have never questioned that in my entire life. You make me feel safe, and you make me feel like everything will always be safe. I know I will never be able to give you all that you have given me, Daddy, so I hope the least I can do is make you proud to be my father.


So now I leave you, with the blessing that you have always left me "Dios me la Bendiga siempre."


Love Your Little Girl,

Sophie.

76 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page