top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSophie Calderon

Desiring A Life-Style Change

Updated: Jul 12, 2018

Unlike many people, I am someone who loves change. Maybe even enough to say I crave it. Well, I am not sure if it's because I am entering a new chapter of my life or maybe just a random feeling, but I have really desired a life-style change. Different from maybe re-decorating my room or buying a new outfit, this time I want a big change.


I think that many people are afraid of change because we get so comfortable in routine. And although I say I am ready for this switch up, it will definitely take some getting used to.


So you are probably wondering what type of change I am seeking? Well let's get into it! And I know it may seem like a lot, but I am a person who will commit to it if I am fully invested. I am ready to take on an eco-friendly, natural, healthy, and happy life! A lot of these tips and tricks came from Meghan Hughes on YouTube. She is THE STUFF.


Let's start with the thing I am most excited about: trying to live an eco-friendly life. By eco-friendly, I am going to try and recycle along with being more conscientious about the things I buy. And who knows, maybe you can try them too.

- I invested into getting a pack of Stainless Steel Straws from Bed, Bath, & Beyond.

(80% of all marine debris found in the ocean is land based, and 80-90% of the marine debris is made from plastic)

* I carry one in my purse in case I go to a restaurant and feel like I "need" one. Another thing you can do is ask for 'no straw' or simply not use one.

- The next thing I did was went to TJ Maxx and bought one of their 100% recyclable bags to keep in my car for whenever I shop.

* This way I don't waste a lot of plastic bags that DO NOT break down and cannot be recycled.

- The next step I intend on taking is recycling. All you have to do is pick up a recycling bin from your city along with a pamphlet that informs you about all of the things you can recycle. Also, if your city has a recycling station, you can take your cans and other things there and get a couple of dollars for your good deed!


Another thing I am doing as part of my lifestyle change is cleaning out!

- I started with my room in which I go through all of my drawers and closets and look through my things. If you have not worn it in the past 6 months - year, there is a 90% chance you are not going to wear it! Before you sell your clothes, you should check to see if there is someone you know who needs clothes or donate them to a local Salvation Army or Thrift Shop.

-While I was at it, I decided to clean out my makeup and toiletries. I found out that I have a lot of makeup I don't use anymore or some that I've never used!! If you find yourself cleaning out and end up with a lot of leftover bottles of new face wash, feminine products, perfume, lotion, and maybe NEW or LIGHTLY USED makeup, donate it to "Project Beauty Share" (what I did!!) Project Beauty gives new and lightly used products to women nationwide who are victims sexual abuse, etc. who fled there homes and are trying to get back on their feet.

Next, some natural things I am going to try:

- Lately, my skin has been breaking out like crazy. I cannot seem to find a good face wash that works for my skin, so I have decided to turn to natural regimens. This is just going to be a trial run, so I'll let you know if it works!

* Herbalism Face Scrub by Lush, but until that comes in I'm using Cetaphil's Face Exfoliator.

* Spray Rose Water mixed with 10 drops of Frankincense essential oil. (Pour oil in the bottle when you first purchase)

* Lip Scrub from Walgreens (not an everyday thing, just when my lips dry out)

* Burt's Bees Face Moisturizer (twice daily)


Being Healthy:

- I am trying to be a little more careful about things I put in my body. Also trying to choose cooking at home instead of grabbing something to eat!

- Trying my best to go to the gym a little bit each day, or even doing exercise at home!

- I increased my water intake to 100 oz. a day!

* I have a 32 oz. Camelbak water bottle (invest in a reusable bottle if you don't have one) that I drink from. I purchased some cute, personalized stickers from Red Bubble to encourage myself to keep up with my bottle!


Lastly things I am determined to do to enrich my life:

- Continue to listen to really good Spotify playlists, but opening up to a lot of new music.

- Learn a lot more about Christianity and actually taking the time to read out of the bible.

- READING!! I do not normally elective read, but I do love a good book. I have a lot of John Green books and I look forward to reading some good stuff! (suggestions appreciated)

- Get back to taking a lot of pictures! I used to carry my camera with me all of the time and take tons of pictures, but now I kind of rely on my phone. I really want to get back into capturing those candid moments in my life because it is always fun to look back!

- LOVE MYSELF. This is going to be healthier than any diet or exercise known to man!


Okay. Let's Begin.





69 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page