top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSophie Calderon

First Semester Down

Hey, its me--ya girl, Sophie.


got highlights, but my selfie game is still not strong.

A little update on my life since, my first semester of college has officially come to an end. I cannot say that it was easy, but I can definitely say that it was quite an experience, a good one too. For those of you who don't really know me and need a little history lesson, I gotcha. Last year I graduated from High School a year early. During my time in high school, I went to night school and did a little after school dual enrollment, which put me as a sophomore in college as a seventeen year old. To be honest, saying I was this young and graduating high school was always fun because people were impressed, but I can honestly say that I try to stay as far away from telling people I'm 17 in college- in fear that they won't take me seriously. Kind of dumb right? After graduating high school, my plan was to go to community college for year, try and find a job, graduate and move on- but let me tell you, I got a lot more than that. A couple of days before school started, my now coach, called me asking if I wanted to play tennis for MCC. This was a serious shock for me, because I picked up tennis my freshman year of high school and played for fun, never thinking it would go farther than that. But I can safely say this is the best thing that could've happened for my MCC experience. Not only has it given me the BADDEST girl group on campus, but it's gotten me in shape, made me work super duper hard on my grades, and I can always look forward to seeing these girls, even if it means I get to see them on the baseline about to do some conditioning (but what doesn't kill you makes you stronger? maybe?)


Like every chapter in life, this one came with a million ups and a few downs here and there. Whether I just felt like I couldn't possibly do it or maybe just questioned myself a little - things happen, and I was constantly reminding myself that it will in fact, be okay. So of course, this is where I get into detail hahah; you're in for the long haul. I got to experience my first "finals week" as a college student. And yes, I had to take the finals for the college courses when I was in High School but it was not even close to being the same. For one of my classes, my teacher was very vague with what would be on the exam. The only thing he let us know was that it MIGHT have some old test questions and some questions from the 5 chapters we didn't take tests on. WE HAVE TAKEN 6, 75 QUESTION TESTS. So me, being the visual learner that I am took it upon myself to make 550 Flashcards. So here I am going through finals week, getting more relaxed about the exam that I was once currently stressing about, as my stack of flashcards increased. After writing the 550th flatcars (the day before the exam) I was proud as could be, until I remembered that I had to in fact remember them too. *queue the mental breakdown* I SOMEHOW managed to memorize them all and ace the final, so that was a plus, but I still can't completely say it was worth it.


Another thing with college people, is that it seems like everyone is in a relationship (which can be a weird touchy subject but I'm just here to speak in general, its part of the process people). I am that girl who has never been in a relationship, but people like to come to me for advice. What can I say? Coaches don't play. I can definitely say that there is an undeniable pressure sometimes to find someone. I, personally am not someone to get influenced by others opinions about this topic, but ya know sometimes I feel like maybe I'm missing out or a little bit of a late bloomer when it comes to relationships?? Any who, people like to ask me why I "avoid" relationships, which I am not, but here is my answer for you curious (*cough *cough nosey) peeps:

- There hasn't really been anyone I just feel like I really wanted to be with (well maybe a little but I'm not gonna spill the tea)

- I am not someone who thrives off of attention from a guy, but more of someone who thrives off of accomplishing things (i.e. my photography, academics, whatever)

- And to get honest with ya, I have a serious fear of getting let down. Not limited, but included to relationships.

Anyways, that's been a kind of iffy, rude awakening aspect of college, but I'm in no rush. When the right person comes along it'll work out.

LASTLY FOR THIS TOPIC: For my sweet ladies, I want y'all to know that every one of you is beautiful and I've watched my friends, non-friends, myself, EVERYONE, at one point in time put in 10,000% effort to impress people. And I'm not trying to say stop trying, but I want you to know that the REAL you is always going to be good enough. And yes, while it is good to try hard, you have to remember that the right person is going to love you for you. Thanks for coming to my Ted Talk.


To wrap it up before I lose ya, I just want to say that I am completely satisfied with my first semester of college. I've worked really hard and gotten god grades, found my group of people along with meeting some really cool people along the way, I've improved my game on the court and can now jog more than 5 feet without feeling like I'm on the brink of death, but lastly, and most importantly, I feel like I've grown as a person and become more confident in myself. I cannot wait to continue this chapter of my life and I look forward to what's to come. Life is OH SO GOOD. Catch ya on the flip side.



Best Wishes as Always,

xoxo - Sophie



45 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Σχόλια


bottom of page