top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSophie Calderon

Simple Things

I've quickly come to the realization that being in college can be overwhelming, for sure. My day consists of: waking up and getting ready, heading to class, grabbing something quick for lunch, heading to practice, studying, weights, dinner, shower, sleep, repeat. Sometimes I feel like I'm on such a routine that I can't even remember how the days go by. Something that helps me take life day-by-day, is appreciating the little, simple things.

- The drive. No matter where I am headed, I love driving early in the morning, late a night, WHATEVER time of day (as long as I've got a good playlist going). Driving is like the most perfect alone time and can be made 10,000X better if you take time to realize the things around you; whether it be a sunset or a light rainfall with the sun peaking through, it's just OH SO GOOD. (follow me on Spotify: Sophia Calderon if you need a playlist to bump to)

- Doggies. There is seriously nothing cuter then walking into your house and seeing how excited your dogs are to see you. *heart throb* A dog is the only thing in this world that loves you more than it loves itself.

- Getting unexpected mail. Weird flex, but okay. I love a good hand written letter and I honestly thing they are so underrated these days. I know it's a lot more effect then texting someone, but I promise it means so much more.

- Another weird thing, but the tennis courts at my college oddly attracts a lot of butterflies. Its really nice when you feel like you are on the brink of death during conditioning and a little butterfly passes by. Butterflies always remind me of Happening, which is an Episcopal Spiritual Retreat that I got to lead (ugh, sweet mems), and the whole concept of this retreat is "blooming and growing" as a person along with knowing that in the end, it will be okay. So just a little reminder that no matter how hard/hot it gets, it's gonna be okay.

- Family. The most important thing, honestly. I go to my grandparents house pretty much every day after class or practice and there is nothing in the world I would trade for that time I get with them. At home, all of our schedules are super different so even if it means just sitting on the couch and talking for a little bit, it's still good for the soul.


-Nature. I love the quote about nature "I go outside to lose my mind and find my soul". Being outside is so peaceful and for me is a mini meditation. "Forget not that the earth delights to feel your bare feet and the winds long to play with your hair". -Kahlil Gibran

- Friends. Whether it's walking to class together, eating ANOTHER grilled cheese from the caf, or hosting a car concert, spending little moments with friends like this are the ones that stick with me the most.


-Compliments. Surprisingly taking 2 seconds out of your day to compliment someone is just as fulfilling as having someone compliment you.

-Prayer. It may just be me, but prayer makes you (me, I dunno) more aware of everything going on in your life. Taking a little bit of time to reflect on my life makes me much more thankful for everything I have. I don't know what it is about it, but being alive is so cool.


- Lastly, just being aware. Taking your life day by day and don't forget how simply amazing it is to just be alive. Live simply, love purely. Happy Living Mah Dudes.







36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page