top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSophie Calderon

Wide Open Spaces

I think everyone knows, or at least has heard of, the iconic girl group: The Dixie Chicks. As I enter my next phase of life, college, I feel like one of their songs is really hitting home with me. This song is titled "Wide Open Spaces". It goes a little something like this:

Who doesn't know what I'm talking about

(What I am talking about is taking time in my life to really figure out who I am, along with what path I want to take.)

Who's never left home, who's never struck out

(I'm not moving away just yet haha)

To find a dream and a life of their own

(I "struck out" to find a life of my own by graduating early from high school and taking on things that not many 16 year olds do.)

A place in the clouds, a foundation of stone

(This is the time in my life where I am now expected to turn my dreams into reality. Turn those ideas of what I once had about a future into a present.)

Many precede and many will follow

(I am ready to learn lessons from others and turn them into examples for people to follow.)

A young girl's dreams no longer hollow

(My dreams and life could be compared to a big puzzle. My future no longer has a big hole that desires to be filled, because I am finally putting the pieces together.)

It takes the shape of a place out west

But what it holds for her, she hasn't yet guessed

(The best is yet to come, I'll just have to wait and see!)

She needs wide open spaces

Room to make her big mistakes

(I am not anxious about messing up in life, because I know that my mistakes can be formed into lessons.)

She needs new faces

(I'm really excited to meet new people in college, make new best friends, and let my relationships with my old friends even tighter.)

She knows the high stakes

(I know that these are supposed to be the "Golden Years", but I also know that these next couple of years can play a big role in determining the rest of my life - scary, I know.)

She traveled this road as a child

(Went to LOTS of Mississippi State games with my family growing up.)

Wide eyed and grinning, she never tired

(I am always ready to take on something new and to see where life can take me, and I never turn down an opportunity for success.)

But now she won't be coming back with the rest

(I'm starting to spread my wings. Hello real world!)

If these are life's lessons, she'll take this test

(I have spent 16 years learning about how to appreciate education, love others, remain faithful, be happy, and to be smart in every situation. Coach is finally putting me in the game after 16 years of bench warming and observing.)

She needs wide open spaces

(The world is my oyster, never really understood that saying anyways.)

Room to make her big mistakes

She needs new faces

She knows the high stakes

She knows the high stakes

As her folks drive away, her dad yells, "Check the oil!"

Mom stares out the window and says, "I'm leaving my girl"

(Ma Mama and Ma Daddy taught me well - if you didn't read that with a southern accent, then ya don't know my voice)

She said, "It didn't seem like that long ago"

(It is so weird for me to think that the time has come for me to start College, could've sworn I was just in Kindergarten.)

When she stood there and let her own folks know

She needed wide open spaces

Room to make her big mistakes

She needs new faces

She knows the high stakes

She knows the high stakes

She knows the highest stakes

She knows the highest stakes

She knows the highest stakes


Hey life, my name is Sophie. And your my life, so duh you already know me. I just want you to know that I am ready to take you on. I am prepared for the good times and the bad. I can't wait to feel the thrill of being adventurous, and the meditation of being at peace. I hope you are filled with good people, good memories, and good love. I hope I treat you well and make decisions that are good for you. I hope on our journey together that I am always reminded of where I came from and I am always thankful. I am ready for this next chapter of my life and just saying, you might want to slow down a bit. I am so thankful for you. I need wide open spaces, room to make my big mistakes, new faces, and yes.. I know the highest stakes.

29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page